## ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001.

F.No. 56/Symbol/2016/PPS-II/Vol. VII

Dated: 06th April, 2016

To

The Chief Electoral Officers of,

- (i) Tamil Nadu, Chennai
- (ii) Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram
- (iii) Puducherry, Puducherry

Sub:- General Elections to the <u>Legislative Assemblies of Tamil Nadu, Kerala</u>, <u>West Bengal</u>, <u>Puducherry and Assam 2016</u>- Concession to candidates set up by registered unrecognized political parties- allotment of common symbol under Para 10B of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968- Regarding.

Sir,

I am directed to state that the applications of the following 6 (Six) registered un-recognized political parties for concession in the allotment of a common symbol to their candidates being set up at The forthcoming General Election to the Legislative Assemblies of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Puducherry and Assam 2016 under the provisions of Para 10B of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, have been accepted by the Commission. Accordingly, the Commission has decided to extend the concession sought under Para 10B to candidates of the said parties for the forthcoming General Election to Legislative Assemblies of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal and Assam 2016, in the constituencies mentioned as under:-

Sl. No.	Name of the Party	Name of Election(s)	No. of Assembly constituencies	Common Symbol allotted.
1.	Indiya Jananayaka Katchi	Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu, 2016.  Legislative Assembly of Puducherry, 2016.	In all the 234 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Tamil Nadu.</b> In all the 30 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Puducherry.</b>	Scissors
2.	Samuga Makkal Katchi	Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu, 2016.	In the 78 Assembly Constituencies of <u>Tamil</u> Nadu as per list given in Annexure-TN-I.	Coconut
3.	Indian Christian Front	Legislative Assembly of Puducherry, 2016.  Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu, 2016.	In all the 30 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Puducherry.</b> In all the 234 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Tamil Nadu.</b>	Grapes
4.	Valimai Valartchi Indians Party	Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu, 2016.	In all the 234 Assembly Constituencies in the State of <b>Tamil Nadu.</b>	Green Chilli
5.	Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam	Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu, 2016.	In the 36 Assembly Constituencies of <u>Tamil</u> Nadu as per list given in Annexure-TN-II.	Whistle

6.	Social Democratic Party of India	Legislative Assembly Kerala, 2016.	In all the 140 Assembly Constituencies of Kerala.	Television

- 2. The Returning Officers may be directed to allot the common symbol mentioned above to the candidates set up by the aforesaid registered un-recognised political parties, subject to fulfillment of the provisions of Para 13 of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 relating to setting up of candidates by the parties. It may also be noted that said common symbol allotted to the candidates of the above mentioned political parties, is not allotted by oversight to any other candidates in these constituencies. However, the said symbol shall be available for allotment as free symbol to other candidates in the constituencies where the aforesaid parties do not actually set up their candidates.
- 3. In the event of the above said parties failing to meet the requirement of the minimum number of candidates, as prescribed in Para 10B of the said Symbols Order, 1968, i.e., 5 % of total number of <u>Assembly Constituencies</u> in the concerned State in case of Assembly election, then the said common symbol shall not be available to their candidates.

Yours faithfully,

(VARINDER KUMAR) SECRETARY

## Copy to: -

Sl.No.	Name of the Party	Instructions
1.	The President, Indiya Jananayaka Katchi, No.9, 3rd Avenue, 34th Street, Ashok Nagar, Chennai-600083, Tamil Nadu.	It is informed that the party and the candidates must comply with each of the provisions of Para 13 of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968.
2.	The President, Samuga Makkal Katchi No.3 Mudalair Street, Vallam Village, Kanchepuram Dt. Tamil Nadu — .602105	
3.	The President Indian Christian Front LIG-289, Anna Nagar, Opp Velankanni Church, Madurai- 625020, Tamil Nadu.	
4.	The President, Valimai Valartchi Indians Party 411D, Goundachi Palayam, Vadamugam Vellode, Erode-638112, Tamilnadu	
5.	The President, Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam No. 9-1. Thadagam Road, Kavundampalayam, Coimbatore – 641030, Tamilnadu.	
6.	The President, Social Democratic Party of India, 8/2, First Floor, Jangpura Extn., Hospital Road, Bhogal, New Delhi-110014.	

- 2. Sr. Pr. Secy. (TK)/Pr. Secy. (RKS)/Secy. (AJ)
- 3. South-I/South-II
- 4. Guard File.

## Annexure-TN-I

Name of the Party	Samuga Makkal Katchi	
Common Symbol Allotted	Coconut  Tamil Nadu	
Name of State		
Sl. No. and names of the Assembly Co	nstituencies for which symbol has been allotted	
3 Tiruttani	174 Thanjavur	
8 Ambattur	176 Pattukkottai	
12 Perambur	179 Viralimalai	
14 Villivakkam	180 Pudukkottai	
21 Anna Nagar	181 Thirumayam	
29 Sriperumbudur (SC)	182 Alangudi	
30 Pallavaram	183 Aranthangi	
33 Thiruporur	184 Karaikudi	
37 Kancheepuram	185 Tiruppattur	
43 Vellore	186 Sivaganga	
47 Vaniyambadi	187 Manamadurai (SC)	
82 Attur(SC)	188 Melur	
96 Tiruchengodu	189 Madurai East	
98 Erode (East)	190 Sholavandan (SC)	
99 Erode (West)	191 Madurai North	
115 Palladam	192 Madurai South	
119 Thondamuthur	193 Madurai Central	
121 Singanallur	194 Madurai West	
122 Kinathukadavu	195 Thiruparankundram	
123 Pollachi	196 Thirumangalam	
126 Madathukulam	198 Andipatti	
127 Palani	200 Bodinayakanur	
128 Oddanchatram	201 Cumbum	
131 Natham	202 Rajapalayam	
132 Dindigul	204 Sattur	
133 Vedasandur	205 Sivakasi	
134 Aravakurichi	206 Virudhunagar	
142 Thiruverumbur	207 Aruppukkottai	
148 Kunnam	208 Tiruchuli	
158 Chidambaram	209 Paramakudi (SC)	
162 Poompuhar	210 Tiruvadanai	
163 Nagapattinam	211 Ramanathapuram	
165 Vedaranyam	212 Mudhukulathur .	
167 Mannargudi	213 Vilathikulam	
168 Thiruvarur	216 Srivaikuntam	
169 Nannilam	217 Ottapidaram (SC)	
171 Kumbakonam	225 Ambasamudram	
172 Papanasam	229 Kanniyakumari	
173 Thiruvaiyaru	230 Nagercoil tal - 78 ACs	

D

## Annexure-TN-11

Name of the Party	Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam	
Common Symbol Allotted	Whistle Tamil Nadu	
Name of State		
Sl. No. and names of the Assembly Con	nstituencies for which symbol has been allotted	
1 Gummidipoondi	89 Salem (North)	
4 Thiruvallur	99 Erode (West)	
9 Madavaram	104 Bhavani	
10 Tiruvottiyur	108 Udhagamandalam	
19 Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni	110 Coonoor	
21 Anna Nagar	113 Tiruppur (North)	
25 Mylapore	117 Kavundampalayam	
26 Velachery	118 Coimbatore (North)	
37 Kancheepuram	121 Singanallur	
53 Krishnagiri	132 Dindigul	
59 Dharmapuri	143 Lalgudi	
62 Chengam (SC)	144 Manachanallur	
63 Tiruvannamalai	146 Thuraiyur (SC)	
65 Kalasapakkam	184 Karaikudi	
78 Rishivandiyam	194 Madurai West	
81 Gangavalli (SC)	216 Srivaikuntam	
82 Attur(SC)	230 Nagercoil	
87 Sankari	231 Colachel GOON	

Total - 36 ACs

