<u>By Fax/Spl. Messenger/Speed Post</u>

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

NIRVACHAN SADAN, ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No.437/6/1/ECI/INST/FUNCT/MCC/2018

Dated: 26th April, 2018

То

 The Cabinet Secretary, Government of India, Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi.

2.	The Chief Secretaries to the Government of:-		
	a) Bihar, Patna;	f) Nagaland, Kohima;	
	b) Jharkhand, Ranchi;	g) Punjab, Chandigarh;	
	c) Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram;	h) Uttarakhand, Dehradun;	
	d) Maharashtra, Mumbai;	i) Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow;	
	e) Meghalaya, Shillong;	j) West Bengal, Kolkata.	
3.	The Chief Electoral Officers of:-		
	a) Bihar, Patna;	f) Nagaland, Kohima;	
	b) Jharkhand, Ranchi;	g) Punjab, Chandigarh;	
	c) Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram;	h) Uttarakhand, Dehradun;	

- d) Maharashtra, Mumbai;
- e) Meghalaya, Shillong;

- i) Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow;
- j) West Bengal, Kolkata.
- Subject:- Bye-election to fill casual vacancies in the Lok Sabha from Parliamentary Constituencies of Maharashtra, Nagaland, Uttar Pradesh and State Legislative Assemblies of Bihar, Jharkhand, Kerala, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal- instructions on enforcement of Model Code of Conductregarding.

Sir,

I am directed to state that the Commission has announced, vide Press Note No. ECI/PN/32/2018, dated 26th April, 2018, schedule for bye-election to fill casual vacancies from the following Parliamentary/Assembly Constituencies in the various States :-

Name of the State	Name & No. of Constituency
Bihar	50- Jokihat Assembly Constituency
Jharkhand	34-Gomla Assembly Constituency
	61-Silli Assembly Constituency

Kerala	110-Chengannur Assembly Constituency
Maharashtra	11-Bhandara-Gondiya Parliamentary Constituency
	22-Palghar (ST) Parliamentary Constituency
	285-Palus Kadegaon Assembly Constituency
Meghalaya	53-Ampati (ST) Assembly Constituency
Nagaland	Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency
Punjab	32-Shahkot Assembly Constituency
Uttarakhand	05-Tharali(SC) Assembly Constituency
Uttar Pradesh	2-Kairana Parliamentary Constituency
	24-Noorpur Assembly Constituency
West Bengal	155-Maheshtala Assembly Constituency

2. The provisions of the Model Code of Conduct have come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Parliamentary/Assembly Constituency going for bye-election is comprised, subject to partial modification as issued by Commission vide its letters <u>No. 437/6/INST/2016-CCS</u> <u>dated 29th June, 2017</u> and <u>No. 437/6/MISC/ECI/LET/FUNCT/MCC/2017 dated 18th</u> January, 2018 (copies enclosed).

3. This may be brought to the notice of all concerned.

Yours faithfully,

(NARENDRA N. BUTOLIA) PRINCIPAL SECRETARY

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

NIRVACHAN SADAN, ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No.437/6/MISC/ECI/LET/FUNCT/MCC/2017

Dated: 18 January 2018

The Chief Electoral Officers of All States and Union Territories.

Subject: -Clarification regarding enforcement of MCC during bye-election - regarding.

Sir,

To

I am directed to refer to the Commission's letter No. 437/6/INST/2016-CCS dated 29th June, 2017 regarding application of Model Code of Conduct wherein it has been stated that in case the constituency is comprised in State Capital/Metropolitan Cities/Municipal Corporations, then MCC instructions would be applicable in the area of concerned Constituency only. In all other cases aforesaid instructions would be enforced in the entire district(s) covering the Constituency going for byeelection(s). (Copy enclosed for ready reference)

In this connection, a clarification was sought for by Returning Officer, Ajmer Parliamentary Constituency in Rajasthan, whether the MCC was to be enforced in the entire district of Jaipur or only in the Dudu Assembly segment of Jaipur District during the ensuing bye-election to Ajmer Parliamentary Constituency Since Jaipur district has in it state capital municipal corporation, metropolitan city as well as rural area. The Commission considered the matter and clarified that in order to avoid dislocation/disturbance of normal administrative work in Jaipur District, MCC would be enforced only in-Dudu Assembly segment of Jaipur district.

Now, the Commission has decided that above direction shall be applied in all future bye-elections in the Country involving State Capital/Metropolitan Cities/Municipal Corporations. Accordingly, any district in which Corporation/ Metro/Municipal Corporation is located, MCC would be enforced in the particular Assembly Constituency Segment only and not in the whole of the district.

Yours faithfully,

(NARENDRA N. BUTDLIA) PRINCIPAL SECRETARY